Thanksgiving with my family

January 19, 2010 at 8:12 pm Leave a comment

We took the kids back to the states for their year  end holidays last Nov-Dec.  We went to CA(Hollywood, San Diego, & San Francisco), Las Vegas, Lake Tahoe/Mammoth Lakes, and Iowa.  Ate at many fabulous places.  Will back post those restaurants later.  I got a chance to spend Thanksgiving with my siblings  and cousins.  That was also the highlight of great eating for me. 

Before Turkey Day, we had a bbq-chicken, pork ribs and 2inch thick steaks plus great salads.  We had so much meat that night and were all so finger licking good.    I didn’t have time to take photos of the other meats and salads.  I was too in awe of the giant steaks.lol  The steaks were simple worcestershire sauce and salt and pepper.  Dh made sure I was in charge of those so my sis wouldn’t marinade it with anything fancy or funky sauces.  But the marinades she put on the chix and pork ribs were so good.  The kids got to make smores(1st time ever) after the steaks were done.  That was fun for them.  My sis actually made a pit for barbeque right in the middle of her garden.  Thanksgiving was wonderful.  We wnet to 3 houses.  I didn’t touch any turkey at the first 2 houses.  I was saving my stomach for Melody’s roast turkey at my sis’ house.   The turkey was covered with beer, apple cider and salt overnight.  Onions and celerys were  stuffed inside when it went into the oven.   She worked all night chopping and preparing  the ingredients for the next night’s feast after just arriving hours only from LA.  I helped out by making salads(7-layer and taco) and appetizers(jellos with fruit, devilled eggs and pastry filled with munster cheese, spinach and beef with marinara sauce.  Dh bought 2 very expensive French champagne-Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin Brut Rose (for toasting Melody’s(my niece) engagement to Chris and celebrating Thanksgiving. Lots of guests brought wines.  My sis invited lots of people, not just family. She  also had Esaan food b/c she knew I love it.  It’s been 8 years since I went back to Iowa.  It was great to be around my brothers and sisters and nieces and nephews and cousins I hadn’t seen for a long time.  The turkey was the best I’ve ever had in a long time-so juicy and tasty.  I will use that combo of beer/ apple cider from now on when I roast turkeys.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Brasserie Les Saveurs @the St. Regis Singapore Blackmore wagyu

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


